Dharmalaya FAQ for Visitors & Volunteers > Volunteering with Dharmalaya > What kind of food is available at the Dharmalaya Institute?
The Dharmalaya Institute serves wholesome, all-natural, vegetarian cuisine using local and organic ingredients as much as possible. Our meals are simple but tasty and plentiful (served buffet-style). They are suitable for vegans (no animal products whatsover are used) and, to the best of our knowledge, are compatible with the guidelines for kosher and halal diets by virtue of being without animal products and alcohol. (Please note that if you wish to include animal products in your diet, you would need to eat off campus, such as at a restaurant down in the town of Bir itself. Because this is an ashram environment, it is not permissible to bring any kind of meat or eggs onto the property, and our campus is also free of other animal products including dairy and honey, etc.). If you intend to stay on the Dharmalaya campus (subject to availability), please bring enough cash (in rupees) to make a donation to cover the costs of your meals.
› For costs of food and lodging at Dharmalaya, see our Visitor Info page.
Last updated on 19 Apr, 2015 by Dharmalaya Institute